Today’s Interviewee: Kaliyah

Q. How old are you and where were you born?

A. I’m 10 years old and I was born in Waterville hospital.

Q. Who are your best friends? What does it take to be your good friend?

A. My best friends are Molly, Olivia, Alyssa, Alyssa, Claire and Jeremiah. They are nice to me. When I’m sad, they always cheer me up.

Q. What is your favourite thing to do when you’re not at school?

A. I like to hang out with my friends and play with my animals.

Q. How many pets do you have? What are their names?

A. I have three dogs named Oscar, Sadie, and Najla. I also have four cats named Sashy, Knox, Missy and Luna.

Q. Do you like school? What are your favourite subjects?

A. I do like school. I like French, Math, and Art.

Q. Who is your favourite teacher and why?

A. My favourite teacher is Mme. Thompson, my homeroom teacher. She is really nice.

Q. What is COVID-19?

A. uummmm… um… oh … I don’t really know… oh oh…It’s the virus.

Q. How did it affect your life?

A. By giving it to me *giggles*…it wasn’t very fun.

Q. What do your brother and sister do that really bugs you?

A. They annoy the crap out of me.

Q. What do your brother and sister do that makes you really proud to be their sister?

A. They are nice and they share with me.

Q. Imagine you were allowed to make the biggest mess ever… how would you make it?

A. I would probably make a whole bunch of cookies and sell them. They would be oatmeal chocolate chip.

Q. What do you do when you feel sad?

A. um… probably by mother, but if she’s not home… I usually talk to my sister.

Q. If you got to be the parent for a day what rules would you make?

A. *giggles* I would make them let the dogs out every single time. I would also make them clean the entire house.

Q. If you had $100 what would you spend it on?

A. Probably nail polish and makeup.

Q. If you could give everybody in your family a new name what would they be?

A. My brother would be Alexander (now Keaton). My sister would be inaudible(now Asia-Leigh) . My dad would be Lucas (now Luke). My mother would be Princess (now Victoria).

Q. What do you think that you are really good at?

A. Math, it’s one of my favourite subjects.

Q. If you could have any superpower what would it be?

A. Invisibility…I could go around and steal my brother’s phone so I could use it without him knowing it.

Q. What would you like to do when you grow up and get out of school?

A. I’d like to be a vet.

Q. What is your dream job?

A. Veterinarian of course!

Q. How old do you think your mother and father are?

A. I think my mother is 36 and my father is 34.

Q. How old do you think your grandparents are?

A. I think Nana Linda is 74 or 75. I think Nana Kelly is 50. I think you are at least 55. ( amazingly accurate)

Q. If you could live anywhere in the world where would that be?

A. Mexico, I’d like the warm weather and the beaches.

Q. Who are your heroes?

A. My parents, my siblings, and Molly.

Editor’s note: This is a transcript of a telephone call. I have edited it to remove long silences, illegible sounds and for clarity.

Transcription and editing services provided by Shalyn Arseneau

Want to be an insider? Stay up to date?

Please subscribe to stay informed. It is 100% certified free!